This Is My “Dip” Recipe

I have been a member of my husband’s family for many years. We have only been married since September but we’ve been together for almost 8 years and I had spent a lot of time with his family before we got together. I was best friends with his sister so I’d say I’ve been an honorary member of the Earp family for 10 years. For these 10 years I have become very familiar with their family recipes, one of them being “Dip”. “We’re having Dip tonight!” “Let’s go to Mom and Dad’s, Mom told me she’s making Dip tonight!” the mere mention of Dip sent the people in this family into a frenzy! I remember the first time I ate it, Dip is sinfully good and so ridiculously simple. This is a large casserole dish filled with refried beans, ground meat, hot sauce, sour cream, and topped with mozzarella cheese, it’s all served with either very strong tortilla chips or corn tortillas. This meal is legit! It has everything going for it, it’s greasy, carby and cheesy. Dip covers all the bases, and it makes especially good drunk food. Now, there was a time where my husband made dip for himself at least twice a month. Eating this much dip was not good for anyone’s waistline so I pretty much banned him from making dip anymore! He even perfected the recipe, making it slightly better than the incredible recipe that his mother makes. He subs pepperjack cheese for the mozzarella and he uses ground beef with added taco seasoning and usually chopped onion, these substitutions really take this dish over the top. Now that we are low carb and have been low carb for quite some time we reserved Dip for those special occasions where once in a while you can get away with splurging on refried beans. I am very committed to low carb so I have been experimenting with a lot of our standard family favorites trying to find decent low carb substitutes and I think I have beautifully recreated our favorite Dip!

IMG_20170404_191912

Low Carb Dip

Makes 8 Servings
1 Lb. Grass-fed Ground Beef
3 tbsp Taco Seasoning
1/2 Yellow Onion
16 oz. Sour Cream
6 oz. La Victoria Salsa Brava Hot Sauce – You can use more or less depending on how spicy you like it
1 Lb. Pepperjack Cheese – Grated, not pregrated unless you like starch with your cheese
1 Recipe (please use a FEMALE Eggplant for this recipe, your beans will come out sweet tasting if you use a male eggplant) Maria’s Paleo Refried “Beans”

Preheat oven to 400F degrees.

Chop 1/2 yellow onion and saute in frying pan until soft. Add in ground beef and brown. Drain the beef if you’d like, but I don’t because I want all of the extra fat. Add in the taco seasoning and set aside.

 

In the bottom of a 9×13″ pan spread out the paleo refried beans, in a layer across the whole pan. Next top the refried beans with your ground beef. The third layer is sour cream spread evenly atop the ground beef. Next top the sour cream with your hot sauce, you can spread the hot sauce so it mixes with the sour cream a bit in the pan. Finally top it all off with pepperjack cheese.

Place your dip in the oven for 20-25 minutes or until bubbly at the edges and browning on top.

Makes 8 servings that are calorie dense and super filling!

I serve it with these home made fat head tortillas, I make them much smaller than the recipe calls for, I do them about the size of a standard corn tortilla so I get about 12 tortillas out of this one recipe – http://simplysohealthy.com/low-carb-tortillas/

I put the nutrition info into Myfitnesspal and this is what I came up with:

Makes 8 servings: Cals: 479, Fat: 37g, Net Carbs: 6g, Protein: 29g

 

 

1 thought on “This Is My “Dip” Recipe

  1. I just love this blog!

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close